Texas 4x4 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
3,059 Posts
yes

Stretch and I both have Danfoss full hydro and yes, you can turn the wheels with the engine dead but it is of course hard, just as bad as manual steering. Also you have road feel and stops with full hydro but NO CENTER DETENT position so your steering wheel will never stay centered is the only problem we have. We are both using Howe Quicksteer units to lower the number of turns lock to lock. Overall I am VERY pleased with this setup! I have no experience with the orbital valve only units so maybe somebody else can comment on them.
Mark

·
Super Moderator
6,117 Posts
Some do, some dont. It just depends on the valve.

·
Registered
3,525 Posts
You can get the danfoss units for about $150. I only have $400 in my whole setup and I think OldGoat has about $450 in his setup. Compare that to $1100 from some of the vendors in the 4x4 world. Create your own crap and save some big cash!!!

·
Registered
921 Posts
you can steer but you have to be moving...and you will have to eat your wheeties because it's a Beech...but you will have enuff to get you to the side of a trail...we have the full howe set up...and you can get a self centering orbital from howe and other places.. its a charlynn unit that will cost about $400.00...that and a double ended ram is the best set up....L

·
Registered
3,059 Posts
full hydro

Cody, my total expense was $440 and that was for:
Tractor Supply 8"x2" ram NEW $65
NAPA custom length Hydraulic hoses NEW $50
Howe Quick Steer 2:1 ratio NEW $150
Danfoss orbital valve new, but, eBay item. $100
Borgeson steering coupler NEW $25
Borgeson u-joint steering coupler NEW $50
Misc. steel plate and nuts and bolts. $25
Grand total of $465