Texas 4x4 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
422 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey from Beaumont, TX. Here are some pics of my build to show where she is at now so go easy, its my first build and first time with any kind of fab work period. My goal is to keep it street legal (for now) but have a capable rig for the trails. Plus...I just need **** to do to keep me outta trouble!
Pic the day I brought her home

Pic of the tired 350 it came with

Body off and shock towers and the BTF full width kit installed

the BTF XJ stretch kit with Genright stretch tank, it gave about 7"-7.5" of wheelbase (one day I might comp cut and use a fuel cell but for now the option of a back seat sounds better to me)

Pic of the fabbed crossmember/skid plate

5.3 vortec/4L60e/STaK 3 speed install pics

1 ton axle pics (too good of a deal for me to pass on)

7/8th heim steering mocked up. Still have to remove factory tie rod

More pics...
Traction bar in place. I still have to weld the bracket to the axle tube. The brakets are from ruffstuff and are pretty damn stout.

I picked up some race trim seats that seem real cozy for the price. When I add to my cage and tie it in I will make some brakets for the seats too. For now the factory crap will have to do. I was going to build a console for the Art Carr shifter and triple shifters but decided for now I am just going to extend an aftermarket console to the dash that I picked up for $29. Once extended, it should make more surface area for the shifters.